Niels

“My name is Niels and I’m from the small but proud country of Denmark! I’m 22 years old and I got my first tattoo when I was 18. I have always loved tattoos and always been fascinated by them. I now have 7 tattoos and plans for much more!

The rolling pin tattoo was my 6’th tattoo. Most of my tattoos have been very thought trough, whereas this started as a joke when one of my friends got a tattoo himself. The joke planted a seed in me and the more I thought of it the better the idea seemed to be. To specify why it’s a great idea, I explain that I’m a baker and have been working as one for about 4 years. Loving the work so I, (well my friends) decided that I should get this.

At first, I wanted it in etching style but she had me convinced that dotwork-styled tattoo would be nicer and I couldn’t agree more. The flowers are kind of her signature and they are both made freehand.

humans-with-tattoos-nielsbwarm

The puffin and the anchor has a very special meaning to me. I was born in the Faroe Islands but moved away very young. My father was half Faroese. He died in my 4’th year on the globe, I have never known him, but I have always felt a strong connection to my Faroese roots.

The puffin is the national bird of Faroe Island and the artist who made it, posted this flash on Facebook asking if anyone wanted it. When I saw it I had never thought of getting that as my dedication to my father, but as soon as I saw it I knew that that was it!

The reason why I am here (in Santo Domingo) is because I’m going to follow my roots and sail across the Atlantic in a two-masted schooner. From Boca Chica to Amsterdam. I’m going to be a trainee on the boat and learn how to be a sailor!”

humans-with-tattoos-thumb

Niels tattoos:
Rolling Pin and The Bear: avasamii (Instagram)

Puffin and Anchor: aygultattoo (Instagram)

Book he mentioned:
We, The Drowned by Carsten Jensen

Text: Niels
Photos: Pinja

Leave a Reply

